AFRACA convened its 21st General Assembly which was held virtually from 24th-25th February 2021. The Assembly brought together all AFRACA member institutions from all sub-regions in Africa to deliberate on the impact of post covid relief measures by financial institutions, rural finance impact indicators and election of new Executive Committee Members.

Dr. Jesimen Chipika, Deputy Governor Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe was elected as the Chairperson of the AFRACA Executive Committee. She becomes the second woman to be at the helm of the Association after Dr. Retselisitsoe Matlanyane, Governor Central Bank of Lesotho who chaired the Executive committee from 2006-2008. The Banque Centrale du Congo was elected as the Vice Chair of the Association.

At sub-regional level, the Central Bank of Kenya and Central Bank of Senegal were reelected to represent EACRAT and WACRAT I sub-region respectively. The Bank of Ghana was elected to represent WACRAT II, Banque De La République Du Burundi CACRAT sub-region and Bank of Mozambique SACRAT sub-region. The newly created AFRACA North Africa (NACRAT) sub-region will be chaired by Credit du Agricole du Maroc.

We congratulate the new AFRACA Executive Committee Members, and we are optimistic that together we will achieve our mandate as outlined in the new Strategic Plan (2021-2025).  We also extend our gratitude to the previous Executive Committee (2018-2020) for their great leadership and achievements during the two-year period.